Why can’t I make my mind up??

Today my biology teacher asked me to teach the class about bacteria. At first I thought she was joking, turns out she wasn’t. First of all it was embarresing because I had to sit up at the teachers desk and look at my classmates, I mean that was just too weird and then I got really nervous because they were all looking straight at ME..yea my faced went bright red. I got a flash of my future considering that secondary teaching is my career choice and lets just say it was a shock as it turns out I don’t like being the centre of attention and thats just what a teacher is..all the time when she is teaching, well most of the time anyway.  Then I went blank as I began to think they were all watching me. However then we all just started laughing and they told me to ask them questions, so I did and it went well.

So i’ve experienced primary and secondary teaching both before I have even left school. I didn’t feel nervous or under pressure with the primary teaching like I did today with secondary but I think that was just because they were my classmates and it was weird and also I wasn’t expecting it at all, if you knew my teacher you would know what I mean but anyway either way I still can’t wait to get my degree and go abroad to a sunny country and teach in a secondary school.

 

One thought on “Why can’t I make my mind up??

  1. Haha! Your post made me smile after a long hard day. :) I think it’s perfectly normal to feel weird being in front of the classroom, especially when you least expect it. I always feel that my classmates are judging me when I’m out there. I guess it gets better with time. :)

    I’m glad it went well for you though! Really hope you’ll achieve your dream of teaching in a secondary school. You can consider coming here because there are lots of opportunities for you (plus it’s sunny!), not to mention good food everywhere and a vibrant night life. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

