Things you learn in two months

So summer 2012 has gone by pretty quicky and to be honest i’m kind of glad it has as I can’t wait to start College in a few weeks time. After a summer spent minding three toddlers its safe to say i’m looking forward to feeling like a teenager again and not like a mother. Lets just say I won’t be having kids until i’m sixty….

A lot of things have happenend this summer, I went abroad for two weeks without my family and apart from getting lost in the Spanish mountains, being sunburnt and being ill, it went pretty well so i’m already thinking about what spending June July and August in London next year, just have to find a job there first.

Oh and I also discovered how awful people can be, like the mother of the children I mind, she has three toddlers and dresses them in expensive clothes all the time and they aren’t allowed to get dirty or mess about and have fun. She wants kids but doesn’t want the hassle of them. The kids are cute and easy enough to mind but the mom is another story…I can’t wait to finish in two weeks even though I shall miss the money and possibly even the little ones as like I said they are quite good. Oh and may I have another rant about the mother..she spent 200 euros on a birthday cake for the three year old..it didn’t even taste that good..enough said.

I went up to watch the little girls that I always mind for years now play a football match yesterday and the family is so nice and the girls are like my little sisters. Five year old Laura always knows how to make me laugh as she told me ” Aifric, a boy told me he loved me today..He told me that he was sweating and to feel his back. I didn’t”. What a good chat up line little man :/

I got my leaving cert results and I’m really happy with them. I’ve decided to study English, Geography and classics with the aim of becoming a secondary school teacher. I also received a scholarship to the university I am going to which I didn’t expect. Lots of people I know are also going to the same university as me so I won’t have to worry about not knowing anyone.

I’ve also come to realise that no matter what we have we are never satisfied with our lives. Like when I received my leaving cert results, it was a moment I had been waiting for for years and yet when I received my results I didn’t ‘feel’ any different. I mean of course I was happy but I was still me, my life was still the same which drew me to the conclusion that when we achieve one goal we move on to the next, never appreciating fully what we have achieved but constantly striving to be better. Striving to be a better person is a good aspect of course but constantly thinking about what we should do next, what tomorrow will bring or where we will be this time next year is good in a sense as everyone needs to have a plan of where they want to go in life but we should also learn to live in the moment and enjoy life as we are living it, as it is happening right now, not next year or in five years time. Ok so the start of this post starts out about me talking about wanting to go to london for summer 2013 but hey i’m trying to live in the moment..okay ??

One thought on “Things you learn in two months

  1. First of all, congratulations for getting good results for your leaving cert and a scholarship to your desired university! :D

    I agree we tend to get a little too demanding of ourselves and are never ever satisfied with whatever we’ve got. But we’ll have to accept that and move on, because life is just too short for us to brood over past events. I’m glad to hear that you’re trying to live in the moment! Viva la vida!

    I do hope your babysitting stint at that family will be over soon though. The mother sounds like a pompous rich lady who doesn’t appreciate the fine arts of child’s play. Getting dirty is part of growing up. Eating expensive cakes isn’t. Tsk.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

