School system is crap..

The school system in Ireland and perhaps most countries leaves a lot to be desired. You send your small child off to school at just four years of age. Then they are expected to work. Learn how to read and write and solve maths problems. Sure the little ones are allowed play with toys for a little while but then have to settle down to work. At four years of age, I mean come on they are only little tots. Children of primary school age ie 4 to 12 years should learn through play and through fieldtrips. Not through boring books. It has been proven that the Scandinavian countries who adopt this techinique and whose children don’t learn to read or write until about eight years old surpass the educational system of other European countries who do not adopt this technique. By twelve years old children who have learnt through play and fun and learning about things by actually doing these things actually do far better than schools who don’t adopt this technique.Steiner schools all the way people!

Then your child gets to secondary school and well you are faced with a final exam at the end of your final year.This exam is known as the leaving cert in Ireland and it is a BIG deal but to be honest I thought I would be more stressed but its now down to the final few weeks and I’m not that stressed. Why bother? My opinion is if I do the work then there is no need to be stressed. I’ve gotten A’s and B’s so far in my mock exams so i’m not too worried but this does not mean that I am for this exam system. Some students have killed themselves due to the stress of it, surely this would indicate the system that hasn’t changed much since 1926 is in need of change but little if anything is being done. My leaving cert will last a grand total of ONE week. Two years work condensed into one short week that will decide my future. Oh if only I was minister for education..

5 thoughts on “School system is crap..

  1. The school system is not so great within the realm of the “United Kingdom”, however, it’s not too bad compared to other countries outside of Europe. The other day I spoke to my nephew (who is 8 and lives in India), he had just finished his end of year exams. End of year? At the tender age of 8?

    Good luck!

  2. Haha! I feel your pain… I have never been a fan of rote learning and exams. I would very much prefer to play as I learn, but the authorities have apparently better ideas on how kids should be educated. I’m lucky that me and my parents agree that education isn’t all about grades. Many of my friends though, have parents who send them for tuition classes for every single subject or voluntarily sign up for extra classes at tuition centres even though they are already straight A students. I have also seen kids who are barely 5 going for preparatory classes to get them ready for primary school. Plain madness, I would call it.

    But for now, I wish you all the best in your exams! Then maybe you can consider a job with the ministry of education. 😀

Leave a comment